Highland Lioness: A Highland Romance of Tudor Scotland (The Highland Ballad Series Book 4) by Kristin Gleeson

Publication Date: January 15, 2021

Morag McGregor is sent to Scottish Court by her father in hopes that she will make a match or, at least, dampen her desire to get revenge on her neighbour, the Campbells. In a setting tense with religious and political strife will Morag sate her desire for revenge and return to her secret love who is waiting at home?

I received this book for review from the Book Club Reviewer Facebook group.

Highland Lioness is the fourth book in the Highland Ballad Series


I have not read any of the previous three books in the Highland Ballad Series and believe that this is the first book I’ve read by Kristin Gleeson and to be quite honest, I did not have high hopes for Highland Lioness in meeting Morag and she and her co-conspirators were lying in wait to sabotage the Campbell’s cattle. First impression was that she was going to be one of these borderline compulsive characters that would careen brainlessly from scrape to scrape until someone “tamed” her completely discounting the historical context of how dangerous a spirited woman might be (especially unmarried) to her own continued health and future. Lets not forget there was a time that women were institutionalized for reading. Gleeson sets the stage well so we know that, at some point, this kid is going to be smacked down and we get that right off of the bat when her brother steps in to command her future path with the help of their father as she’s already gone too far in their eyes. 

Morag begins to take life when we see her with her father. She is young and innocent and very convinced of her position. She reaches to her sister in law for support but she is very aware of her place in society and is just scared. We are given a very real teenager who knows her family has been wronged and is determined to even the score though she may be temporarily roadblocked with the court. She will align herself with whoever she needs to in order to achieve her goal.

Gleeson’s style is very descriptive. Readers will feel that they have a look into Scotland of the day. The culture and clothing are described with a deft hand in a way that does not weigh down the narrative. The Scottish Highlands are painted with a loving hand by the author and are vivid for readers in a very similar way to MC Beaton’s Hamish MacBeth series though that series is set in modern times. The description of Stirling Castle is vivid and impressive and readers get a sense of it’s dominance over the landscape. Mr. Rabid Readers and I watched a documentary about Edenborough Castle a few weeks ago which led me to research if Stirling Castle is fictional. It is not fictional and it looks amazing. Approximately 40 kilometers from Edenborough Castle, it is also built on a cliff made of volcanic rock. Certainly a magnificent and impressive place which can still be toured but is currently closed due to COVID. 

Highland Lioness is a good read but not classic fiction though the author is clearly familiar with the classics. Well-read readers will recognize the works that inspire Kristin Gleeson.

If you enjoy romance and intrigue, Highland Lioness is the book for you. I have no plans to run out and buy the preceding novels in the series but, had I more time in my day, might be tempted. 


Read an excerpt and buy Highland Lioness: A Highland Romance of Tudor Scotland (The Highland Ballad Series Book 4) by Kristin Gleeson on

Amazon U.S.   Amazon U.K.   Amazon CA




The Rigid Rules by Christina Thompson

Release Date: July 11, 2014 



Taylor Valentine is a senior at Western Michigan University and is laser-focused on living a life that would honor the memory of her parents. When Dr. Stuart Morgan visits to give a four-week seminar on Civil War History, the former Marine is undeniably a draw for young Taylor. Stuart has his own rules regarding fraternizing with students—mainly that he doesn’t—that he’s unwilling to break, but he’s tempted to do so for the tantalizing Taylor. When death threats cause their paths to become entwined will Stuart compromise his rules or will Taylor turn to Joe, the hometown boy that has always loved her? [easyazon_link identifier=”1937546322″ locale=”US” tag=”rabidreaders-20″]“Their Rigid Rules”[/easyazon_link] is the third book in the Chemical Attraction series and a prequel to the other novels.


Continue reading The Rigid Rules by Christina Thompson

The Lottery by Shirley Jackson

Publication Date: September 1, 1990


The Lottery by Shirley JacksonThe Lottery by Shirley Jackson is a short story by Shirley Jackson first published in the New Yorker on June 26, 1948. The story chronicles an annual tradition in a small, contemporary, American town called The Lottery in which families pull marked stones and the winning family pulls individual stones to determine which member will have the honor of making the ultimate sacrifice for a perceived greater good.


Continue reading The Lottery by Shirley Jackson

Vaporized: Apocalypse Adventure by Simon Rosser

Publication Date: July 27, 2014


Vaporized: Apocalypse Adventure by Simon RosserIn Vaporized: Apocalypse Adventure by Simon Rosser, the busy lawyer Amber Lee has found time to relax in short supply and is very happy to have an extra day off for a holiday weekend. As the weekend begins the world wakes up to find that following strange objects reported to be heading for the poles that the earth’s water has vaporized. When Amber suddenly finds herself alone can she survive after such a cataclysmic event?


Continue reading Vaporized: Apocalypse Adventure by Simon Rosser

The Dragon and the Needle by Hugh Franks

Publication Date: May 7, 2014


The Dragon and the Needle by Hugh FranksIn The Dragon and the Needle by Hugh Franks, the Extraordinary Natural Death Syndrome (ENDS) is killing celebrities and people of note. When Dr. Mike Clifford and Eleanor Johnson, a noted Chinese trained acupuncturist, start investigating the disease they discover that the cause may be more sinister than they ever imagined.



Continue reading The Dragon and the Needle by Hugh Franks

Condor Moon by Tanna Thornburg

Publication Date: May 16, 2014


Condor Moon by Tanna ThornburgIn Condor Moon by Tanna Thornburg, Rima hoped to start a new life in California, but when her father back in Arizona has a heart attack and her sister is flitting around the world, Rima must return to Arizona to care for him. In the interest of supporting herself, she finds a job doing an environmental assessment for a highly contested potential mining operation. Rima soon realizes that her position may pose a threat to her life. But she may not be in this alone.

Continue reading Condor Moon by Tanna Thornburg

Flirting With Fire (Hometown Heroes Book 2) by Kyra Jacobs

Publication Date: June 25, 2014



Liz Williams is a masseuse who had been looking to get out of the small town where gossip is too much and clients are too few. Her hand is forced when she loses her job due to the business closing and walks into the right salon on the right day in Fort Wayne. The job may be temporary but it gives Liz time to make plans. Those plans don’t involve dating clients. Firefighter Torrunn MacKay is a temptation but he has a girlfriend and is living the life of the single guy who has it made. Getting involved would be a really bad idea for both of them. Bad ideas can sometimes be a lot of fun.

Continue reading Flirting With Fire (Hometown Heroes Book 2) by Kyra Jacobs